top of page

Alabama BBQ Road Trip - Larry's Real Pit BBQ | Enterprise, AL


Larry's Real Pit BBQ

1404 E Park Ave | Enterprise, AL 36330

Facebook - @LarrysEnterprise

Phone - (334) 393-1049


Larry's Real Pit BBQ in Enterprise, AL was my first introduction to the world of BBQ. Affectionately called "Larry's," it was the BBQ staple of my childhood, and of my hometown of Enterprise, AL for a long time.... more to come on that in upcoming BBQ Road Trip episodes.

The Menu

The Larry's menu is very traditional, like most old school BBQ restaurants in the South. They have pretty a popular lunch specials menu and catering options. They offer a salad bar, which isn't exactly world renowned but it'll do for those seeking a chef salad at a BBQ joint. Larry's does provide great nightly specials such as All You Can Eat BBQ Chicken, BOGO Catfish Plate Specials, Hot Wing Night, and Burger Night. I, personally, would love to see Larry's get into more creative appetizers or sides, but that's not to be expected from a small town BBQ joint.

The Sauce

In my opinion, this is some of the best sauce in the Wiregrass. Classis ketchup based sauce with a little bit of a tang. The Sweet isn't overpowered with sugar, and the Hot isn't a tongue torcher either, but that doesn't mean they're bland whatsoever. The Mild isn't an after thought either, it is a great stand alone sauce for those who are looking for a great middle ground. Each bring about their own individual flavor profiles that compliment each other very well. I use all 3 every time. On the BBQ pork, on the fries, and as a dipping sauce for the bread. I would say this is a 10/10 sauce experience.

My Order

I went with my go-to order at Larry's: The chopped BBQ Pork Plate with fries and baked beans. The fries are long crinkle cut, which I personally enjoy. They serve as great BBQ Sauce shovels. The bread is definitely not an afterthought like most restaurant freebies. This is a thick Texas Toast style garlic bread that brings the ruckus. You can also get a BBQ sandwich in between 2 of these bad boys.... Lipitor not included. The baked beans are home made, and pretty good as well. The beans still have texture to them and aren't complete mush, which is a plus in my book. I will say, overall this is a great BBQ pork plate and I try to visit Larry's every chance I get when I'm visiting the folks back home. But, the sliced and chopped BBQ Pork makes Larry's stand out from the rest, and it's a bit of a controversial subject in the BBQ community. Most traditionalists will prefer taking the Boston Butt to around 200°, which is the temperature needed to pull the pork apart. Larry's has made their mark in the Wiregrass area by serving up sliced pork and beef, with a chopped option. I think it's a great move and I'll tell you why. I ALWAYS get pieces of the bark mixed in with my BBQ pork. These little bark pieces add flavor, texture, and fat to the mixture that does not disappoint. Don't knock it 'til you try it.


My Closing Argument

Larry's Real Pit BBQ is a solid BBQ joint. What makes it stand out from being a solid overall restaurant is the lack of creativity and focus on the side items, which are pretty standard, and often times reheated versions of canned goods. But you didn't come here for macaroni and cheese or green beans, you came here for the protein. And in that regard, Larry's has you covered. There are several locations throughout the Wiregrass, but come to the Enterprise location for the best overall Southern BBQ Experience. Also, check them out on Facebook, as they often announce daily specials, like this one below. All you can eat BBQ Chicken on Tuesday's never hurt anyone!


27 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page